Resistance Music From Apartheid South Africa


various artists shotdown

1. Shot Down – Cherry Faced Lurchers
2. Pambere – Mapantsula
3. Struggle – The Genuines
4. National Madness – The Aeroplanes
5. Treason – Lesego Rampolokeng with the Kalahari Surfers
6. Hou My Vas Korporaal – Illegal Gathering
7. International News – National Wake
8. Swart September – Koos Kombuis
9. Now is the Time – Mzwakhe Mbuli
10. Spaces Tell Stories – Roger Lucey
11. Sit Dit Af – Gereformeerde Blues Band
12. In Solitary Confinement – Vusi Mahlasela
13. Brain Damage – Corporal Punishment
14. June 16 – The K-Team
15. Suburban Hum – Jennifer Ferguson
16. Reasonable Men – Kalahari Surfers
17. Uhuru – Sankomota
18. Hlanganani – DTMB
19. War Is Declared – The Mamu Players
20. No Easy Walk to Freedom – Tighthead Fourie and the Loose Forwards

“In the early 1980s if you persevered, you could seek out marginal South African musicians playing politically subversive and musically innovative music in a few live venues in the major urban areas. Rarely were such musicians ever recorded by conservative record companies afraid to rock the apartheid boat. Into this void entered Shifty Records, a maverick indie record company co-founded by Lloyd Ross.

…[this compilation] celebrates both the resistance music of the featured musicians and Shifty’s role in capturing and preserving a vibrant and important part of South Africa’s history of cultural resistance.”

Michael Drewett

Available to download at, thanks to Shifty Records


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s