The Rolling Stones – Hot Rocks 1964-1971 (South African pressing)

The Rolling Stones - Hot Rocks 1964-1971

The Rolling Stones - Hot Rocks 1964-1971

This album, which was released in 1972, was my main introduction to The Rolling Stones. The South African pressing had a different track listing to the US release, which I only discovered when I bought the CD sometime during the 90’s.  The South African pressing included ‘Little Red Rooster’ and ‘Under The Boardwalk’ for example, and omitted ‘Brown Sugar’ and ‘Wild Horses’.

Track list for South African Album

(From my LP, Decca DLPA.105/6)

  1. Time Is On My Side
  2. Little Red Rooster
  3. Under The Boardwalk
  4. Tell Me
  5. Heart Of Stone
  6. Play With Fire
  7. (I Can’t Get No) Satisfaction
  8. Get Off Of My Cloud
  9. As Tears Go By
  10. Mothers Little Helper
  11. 19th Nervous Breakdown
  12. Paint It Black
  13. Under My Thumb
  14. Ruby Tuesday
  15. Let’s Spend The Night Together
  16. Jumpin’ Jack Flash
  17. Street Fighting Man
  18. Sympathy For The Devil
  19. Gimme Shelter
  20. Honky Tonk Women
  21. Midnight Rambler (studio version)
  22. You Can’t Always Get What You Want (single version)

Track list for US Album

(from the book, The Rolling Stones: An Illustrated Discography, by Miles [Omnibus Press, 1980])

  1. Time Is On My Side
  2. Heart Of Stone
  3. Play With Fire
  4. (I Can’t Get No) Satisfaction
  5. As Tears Go By
  6. Get Off Of My Cloud
  7. Mother’s Little Helper
  8. 19th Nervous Breakdown
  9. Paint It Black
  10. Under My Thumb
  11. Ruby Tuesday
  12. Let’s Spend the Night Together
  13. Jumpin’ Jack Flash
  14. Street Fighting Man
  15. Sympathy for the Devil
  16. Gimme Shelter
  17. Midnight Rambler (live version)
  18. You Can’t Always Get What You Want
  19. Brown Sugar
  20. Wild Horses
5 thoughts on “The Rolling Stones – Hot Rocks 1964-1971 (South African pressing)

  1. Pingback: Top Ten Tunes: The Rolling Stones « Brian Currin

  2. Pingback: Top Ten Tunes: Rolling Stones – Hot Rocks 1964-1971 « Brian Currin

  3. Pingback: 70’s Compilation Albums that helped shape my music tastes « Brian Currin

  4. I came accross this posting while searching for “Hot Rocks Little Red Rooster”. I was curious about the omission of “Little Red Rooster” from my CD version which I bought in Dallas. The Hot Rocks album was the first LP I ever bought. The year was 1972 and the store was Joffe’s in Stellenbosch. I was 12 years old at the time. My vinyl cover has a golden star stuck to it with the original price of R4.99. I miss my Little Red Rooster, but I love the “Wild Horses” track. Something else that baffled me for years: How did the sensors of those days not spot “Sympathy for the Devil” while banning Chris de Burgh’s “Spanish Train” which A&M then released as “Lonely Sky and Other Stories” ? Church fathers would have gone balistic ! Hot Rocks remains one of my favourite all-time albums.

Leave a Reply

