Music Trivia: Maori Love Song

Question from Pieter van Wyk re: Maori Love Song:

Hi Brian,
Ek glo jy ken hierdie liedjie. Dit was ‘n treffer in die 70’s. Sover ek kon agterkom, was dit blykbaar ‘n plaaslike groep wat hom gesing het. My suster het hom op 7-single gehad, maar dit verlΓͺ. Weet jy dalk wie was die kunstenaar ? As ‘n ou dit weet, kan ‘n mens dalk ‘n CD soek waarop hy voorkom.
Lekker aand en naweek. Groetnis

My reply:

Maori Love Song was by New Zealand group Double Vision in 1973. They recorded the song in South Africa while on tour with 4 Jacks and a Jill. It went to number 5 on the Springbok Radio Charts. Released on CD on Yesterday’s Best Volume 3 (PolyGram, 1996) and Top 40 Hits Of All-Time Vol 4 (JP Music, 1994).

3 thoughts on “Music Trivia: Maori Love Song

  1. Pingback: Music Trivia: Maori Love Song (via Brian Currin) « Yours In Music

  2. Pingback: Maori Love Song « Brian Currin

  3. Maori Love Song is on my playlist. I really love its rhythm and its melody. It really glories music for me. It is really a classic.

Leave a Reply

