Without You by Barry Mason

Andrew Neill wrote:

I’m trying to trace a song with the following lyrics:

Without you they could make the sun go cold/Lock me up in a trunk till I grow old/ … without you …
I have a verse or two of it on a worn cassette tape recorded off Radio Good Hope or the SABC English Service sometime in 1981.
I have found it on a Dennis East album on www.worldofcountry.com but the version I have is slightly more up-tempo and has female backing vocals. A friend suggests Tommy Dell or someone of that group of SA country singers. Do you have any idea of who else may have recorded it?

“Without You” was by UK artist Barry Mason and was a hit in South Africa in 1976 reaching number 7 on the Springbok Radio charts

This is a completely different song to the Badfinger / Harry Nilsson / Maria Carey song with the same title.

5 thoughts on “Without You by Barry Mason

  1. Thanks Brian. I’d found the Barry Mason song on rock.co.za but couldn’t find a link to hear it. Barry Mason’s website has a 30 sec clip and it sounds like the one on my tape.

  2. I have also been looking a long-long time for a cd of Barry Mason’s with “Without You” on it. I bought the latest Chris de Burgh CD (Footprints) hoping the “Without You” was the Barry Mason one, but it’s the other one!

  3. If anyone does find the song somewhere, I’d love to know too. I’ve searched 20 pages into Google search and other video sites too. Nothing – except that one little snippet, which is nice, as it proves I wasn’t imagining its existence ;)

    • I actually have the original 7′ single in my possession and have tried to copy it onto disc but the quality isn’t very good. I would need someone who knows how to clean up the hiss digitally.

  4. As far as I know, it was just the Barry Mason version… Original writer/performer. Attached herewith is a Youtube link.

Leave a Reply

